Arson in Georgia
Arson is a serious crime in any state, however in Georgia it is categorized as one of the "Seven Deadly Sins," which means the crime of arson is a felony which provides for punishment of up to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000. Depending upon the circumstances of the crime, such as loss of life from arson, there can be additional criminal charges, fines and a longer prison sentence. If you, or someone you know, have been charged with arson in any Georgia jurisdiction you should be aware of the following:
- Our defense team has nationally recognized experts available.
- Attorneys in our office are experts in fire debris and testing procedures
- All attorneys in our office are well versed in National Fire Protection Association 921
- Attorneys are all familiar with ASTM, E 1618-10
- Our team of experts are members of the committee that writes that standards for ASTM.
What to do if your home, business, or car catches fire
- DO NOT give a statement to anyone
- Hire legal counsel immediately
- Hire an arson expert
- Do not clear anything from home, business or car.
- Take as many pictures as possible of everything in the house, business or car.
- Beware of insurance companies!
- Insurance companies CAN and WILL use ANY and ALL evidence to prosecute you in the State of Georgia.
If you have suffered a loss due to the damage, we encourage you to hire legal counsel and consult with our team. Call 678-455-4610 to schedule an appointment with an attorney.